The hidden story of Lithium-6 depletion

• Official Post

Interesting Posts from vortx - Jones
    It is a scary idea

• This seems to me very strange. I am a former student of Pr. Marius
    Chemla, who discovered the Chemla effect, the best way to make
    lithium isotopic enrichment. (He is the little man with brown hairs
    beside me and Bill Collis at ICCF 11. He was over 80 at this time.
    A great scientist. )

So the lithium enrichment don't need huge amounts of lithium. About
    hundred tons for the warhead program, hundred tons for the civil
    reactors neutron balance, and the same amount for the submarines, no
    more.

(For the warheads, the exact value of the best isotopic and chemical ratio
    Li7/Li6/Be/B is classified.)

I don't think that this isotopic enrichment program was sufficient
    to produce a big isotopic shift on commercial lithium, since the
    « boom » of lithium batteries market. For our
    experiments, it is not relevant.

• Note: I don't find anything at the linkout to Vortex given by David (Forum founder).

Anyway, I first read of the use of depleted lithium in the early to mid 80s. As I now recall, that was in regards to the "Molicel" or Moli Cell from Moli Corp (out of Israel at that time, I think). Those lithium batteries were some of the first marketed as high performance lithium rechargeables. They consisted of lithum metal and molybdenum disulfide electrodes (I see this from our famous but "unreliable for controversial issues" online encyclopedia). Moli cells may have been the first lithium batteries in widespread use that had major problems with reliability. I don't recall where I read it, but I know that Molicels were back then said to have Li6 depleted lithium for cost reasons.