Michio Kaku totally dismissive: Cold Fusion is due to chemical reactions

• Lomax wrote:

Well, I was an undergrad at Cal Tech, where I once saw the Scholastic Achievement tests of applications, the computer printout. On the Math test, 800 was a common score. That was my score. Perfect.

Congratulations. But as Edison said, genius is 99 % perspiration, and evidently, you didn't perspire enough to finish your degree.

However, his [Kaku's] originally expressed views remain very common among physicists. Those views change when the physicist involved has an opportunity to examine the evidence.

Considering both DOE panels had an opportunity to examine the evidence, and both were unanimous, or nearly unanimous that evidence for nuclear processes was not conclusive, I don't think that can be said as a general statement. Besides the panels, there is Morrison, who followed the field closely for more than a decade, and wrote skeptical newsletters about it, there is Frank Close, who wrote a book on the subject, and remained skeptical, there are recent critics like Pomp, Erickson, Thieberger, Ugo Bardi, Motl, Siegel, Faccinni et al, Ciuchi et al., Tennfors, and our own Ekstrom, who have all had an opportunity to examine the evidence, and all remain skeptics.

Other than Darden, do you have some examples of recent physicists who changed their views after examining the evidence?

• Mats002 wrote:

I better repeat my post again, since the latest post scripters seams to ignore it perfectly:

Kaku one month ago: "Cold Fusion - I'm open about it",

I'm not sure how that changes anything. I'm open about it too. Show the right evidence and I'll embrace cold fusion in a heart beat. It's only the believers who have closed their minds to the possibility that they could be wrong... talking about facts and done deals and proof and so on.