Rossi on the Challenges of Developing E-Cat Plants

• I'm no expert in the production of sponge metal, but apparently it involves heating large vats of water. So you would also need to account for whatever heat loss occurs due to the endothermic chemical process of creating the sponge metal, and the energy required to heat and maintain the temperature of the water. Siffer also calculated that you could put several saunas in the customer area, which would sufficiently sink 1 MW of heat. There are plenty of other speculative conjecture out there of how you can absorb 1 MW of heat in a warehouse of its size. One simple way would be to just heat water and then send it down a drain (not very useful, but easy enough).

Definitely no expert in thermodynamics....

Saunas? Saunas do not "sink" heat. You can heat rocks. Then what do you do with them? The rocks will radiate heat. The sauna idea is completely crazy. So you heat a lot of water. Same thing. By the way, the heating is with steam. Yes, you could heat a lot of water. Again, then what do you do with it? You cannot heat it to make it boil, more than a small bit with true superheated steam, and you would need an efficient heat exchanger....

The amount of water you would need would be more than 36 cubic meters per day! That is, if 36 cubic meters per day were converted to superheated steam, to move the heat away with water, say down the drain, it could not be more than very little steam -- and the heat exchanger would not be efficient -- so ... then there is the problem that it isn't legal to put water above a certain temperature down the drain, as I recall, plus there is a sewer charge that would be enormous. Like thousands of dollars per month, as I recall.