Rossi vs. Darden developments [CASE CLOSED]

• ** Warning : I AM NOT A LAWYER **

The recent responses are full of "demand strict proof thereof" and "the documents speak for themselves".

This Illinois blog says that those are not permitted responses, and that they may constitute an admission.

http://www.shawfishman.com/dem…f-an-unwitting-admission/

Fed.R.Civ.P. 8(b) provides that a party must answer a complaint by admitting, denying, or stating that it lacks sufficient information to form a reasonable belief about an allegation. Improper denials are deemed admissions. Judges have grown increasingly hostile towards attorneys that disregard Rule 8. ... the chief judge for the Northern District struck a significant portion of the answer because “demands for ‘strict proof’ are improper and meaningless…” Indeed, the concept of demanding proof in a pleading “is unknown to the federal practice or to any other system of modern pleading.”

... ‘this Court has been attempting to listen to [documents that speak for themselves] for years (in the forlorn hope that one will indeed give voice) – but until some such writing does break its silence, this Court will continue to require pleaders to employ one of the three alternatives that are permitted by Rule 8(b)…

• Based on this, it again appears that Rossi's entire case for why he should be paid 89 million will hinge on his ability to convince the court (judge or jury) that a Rental Agreement is also a Guaranteed Performance Test agreement. It just seems so absurd.

Except that everyone involved acted like it was the GPT. Course of business. These matter.

Except that everyone involved acted like it was the GPT. Course of business. These matter.