Back to Basics: Hydrogenation as the KEY to the Rossi Effect

• To keep everyone on here happy and to prevent myself from getting lynched, I'll give the demanded disclaimers from the start: I'm not an engineer, I'm not a scientist, the use of these ideas are not guaranteed to produce excess heat, and I'm simply sharing my thoughts.

Now, I'm convinced that the number one secret to producing massive excess heat is optimizing hydrogenation. Rossi may have optimized other parameters and added other methods of stimulation in later systems. However, his earliest systems, as far as I can tell, worked because he utilized multiple methods of optimizing the uptake of hydrogen. As most people should know, nickel is difficult to hydrogenate. The reason most replications fail, in my opinion, is because there are countless considerations when it comes to making sure your nickel is hydrogenated. Most replicators don't go to great extents to maximize hydrogenation so they produce little to no excess heat. But if they were able to do so, they could produce long periods of self sustained operation just like Andrea Rossi and Focardi achieved in their early tests.

So how should we go about maximizing hydrogenation?

1) First, we should pick our powder. I personally don't think high surface area is critical, because Me356 and others have reported significant excess heat with nickel wire. If you do want to go with high surface area then a carbonyl nickel powder may be ideal.

1A) If you don't care for maximum surface area, I'd suggest high purity gem grade spherical nickel powder.