is there a plausible theory of cold fusion : Mystery of the missing radiation: sense and nonsense

• Official Post

I have seen an interesting blog about LENR theory

http://sjbyrnes.com/cf/?p=713#comment-11243

I’ve mentioned before (here and here) one of the main challenges of explaining cold fusion. In conventional nuclear fusion, nuclear energy is transformed into the kinetic energy of a few (usually 2 or 3) very-fast-moving particles. But if cold fusion is a real thing, then the nuclear energy would seem to be transformed into something else. The reason we know this is, very-fast-moving particles create radiation (I mean neutrons, gamma-rays, etc.), and people have looked for it and found that there is very little of it (see here). For example, some people have been doing cold fusion experiments for many years, without dying of radiation poisoning. Well, I mean, I’m not an expert, but they don’t look dead. So, this is themystery of the missing radiation. The mystery has been approached in sensible ways and in nonsense ways, and in this post I’ll give some examples of both. Edmund Storms’s “hydroton theory” will be my nonsense example.

I have reacted to his critic of Hydroton, even if probably we agree much...

I just read too quickly and this guy read the book... :/
    I should not advised him to read it... but sure you may be interested.

“Only puny secrets need keeping. The biggest secrets are kept by public incredulity.” (Marshall McLuhan)
    twitter @alain_co

• The "no radioactivity" problem is more severe than this.

It is well established that LENR effects, if they exist, require some stimulus. They don't go on forever. To make an LENR hypothesis fit the facts you need some reason why the end results of LENR transmutation are always stable nuclei, rather than nuclei with half-lives in the range of minutes to years that would be detected, through radioactive emission, long after the LENR effect is switched off.