CWatters Member
  • Member since Dec 5th 2017
  • Last Activity:

Posts by CWatters

The Hot Wire anemometer shows substantially higher air velocity at the outlet when at ambient temperature rather than when heat soaked in the outlet tube at the heated temperature.

I assume they need calibrating for different flow temperature due to the way they work? Or are they meant to have compensation built in?

Google found a paper but I've not the time to read it...

https://iopscience.iop.org/art…0.1088/0022-3735/20/3/017

Just a thought but... What would the capacitance of the plate be? Then if you know the likely charge of the object hitting it perhaps you can estimate the voltage of the signal using V=Q/C ? I suspect it might be a bit small? ..or is that not how you think it might work?

Static electricity might be a big issue?

In most industries the importance of being first to market has driven development timescales down dramatically since I graduated. If someone says they have a working machine/prototype and a year later its still not on the market you have to wonder what the problem is.

My wife's job (before she retired) was managing applications for European funding and funding reviews.

If you read the reasons given in the assessment and understand the way EU projects work the reasons given tell you what was missing from the application.

In general the EU likes collaborative projects - groups of companies in different countries all coming together to work on one project with a clear economic benefit. Sceptics say it's so reviewers get to travel to a wider range of exotic destinations :) Everyone wants to partner with companies in say Venice or Nice.

The art of creating such a project it to find companies whose pet interests can be convincingly portrayed as fitting into one seemingly cohesive project. This can be difficult.