Diadon Acs Experimenter/Researcher
  • Male
  • from Pacific NW, United States
  • Member since Oct 16th 2020
  • Last Activity:

Posts by Diadon Acs

Been a while but finally got back round to this, i've found Ollama to be a good project for running models locally, and you can use the continue plugin in vscode for co-pilot like experience. My Macbook Pro M2 16GB is probably too constrained to go above 7B models.
    I have a pair of Nvidia Tesla P40's I can use for transfer learning but unsure of a good dataset to use or which tools to go with.

I was hoping I could add the corpus to a tool like PrivateGPT or AnythingLLM and avoid getting lost in langchain and all the sub tools and terminology since I'm not a data scientist just an engineer (Dev/SRE)
    I would like to figure out an architecture and process to collate the corpus, produce the new model and push to huggingface for consumers as opensource.

Yes, going to need above 16GB+ GPU to run the larger models.
    I'm excited by some of the new hardware coming online from Nvidia and in particular Groq's chip architecture.

One solution to your problem is to spin up rented hardware through one of the various "cloud" providers to fine-tune a pre-existing model.

Either way you slice it there is going to be a price tag on the compute. I would to prefer to do it locally myself, but that is a challenge in training any model, fine tuning or otherwise.
    There is a lot of power in embeddings and retrieval processes as well.

You can pick a model and train it from Hugging face under the trained section.

There is even a "no-code" option called auto-train.

Just make sure you have well structed data sets for the particular model you are planning on using usually found in the data card.

Anasse Bari, David Nagel, et al. have structured data which may be useful.

I will reach out and see if there datasets are open-source or if they will allow open access to there SOLR server to make request queries to there server.