Nigel Appleton Member
  • Male
  • Member since Apr 2nd 2015
  • Last Activity:

Posts by Nigel Appleton

Thomas Clarke is right again about the Woodford Funds investments. They were always a gamble. The vast majority of investments are gambles. There MIGHT be a comeback if Woodford Funds could show deliberate premeditated fraud; otherwise, none. If, say, the Patient Capital Fund investment in IH became completely valueless, it is only ~2% of that fund. Fund values can rise or fall more than that in a single day, for any reason or none.

Interesting times to come. There's a court case pending: if it does actually get to court, much information will be revealed. Elsewhere on this forum, the scientist/engineer known as me365 is claiming some fairly startling results. No doubt there will be others.

I think Thomas Clarke makes very good points.

I am no expert on the emissivity of hot alumina; but I have not seen any rebuttal of his remarks about the probability of a big mistake being made about it in the Lugano test. Nor have the Lugano testers been able to replicate any excess heat.

That needs to be addressed by anyone hoping to rely on the Lugano result

Add to that the seemingly contrarian refusal by Rossi to follow better scientific practice (simultaneous dummy reactors, multiple measurement methods for any parameter...): and the few "successful" replications - all open to doubt - and one can see where he's at and why.

As for the hoohah around Ecat patents - I think it quite possible that none are valid as to the actual LENR process, because insufficient disclosure has been to allow facile practice. We shall see - maybe.

Good work, jeff, albeit the results are negative for excess heat.