oystla Member
  • Member since Apr 19th 2014
  • Last Activity:

Posts by oystla

Eric, This is what he says of himself at physics stackexchange:

"I am a PhD physical chemist (U. Cal-Berkeley, 1984) currently working for the Savannah River National Laboratory in Aiken, SC. Since 1995, I have and currently work in a group supporting our hydrogen isotope separation and purification process in the Tritium Facility of the SRS. SRNL is a DOE-lab and part of the Savannah River Site (SRS), which is a DOE-owned, contractor-operated facility built over 50 years ago as a major part of the nuclear weapons complex. In the past we made plutonium and tritium. As such I work for a contractor company but my salary is traceable to the US DOE.

Prior work/school experience includes dynamic chemical process modeling, with a brief spin-off into industrial engineering modeling, with a brief spin-off into industrial engineering modeling, analytical laboratory quality control method support (i.e. fixing broken analytical methods - lots of applied statistics), polymer chemistry (esp. DACRON), titanium dioxide chemistry, surface chemistry (school), explosives chemistry, 1H-NMR (undergrad), inelastic electron tunneling spectroscopy (school)."

Thomas,

If you have issues with the paper of Higgins, you should challenge him, not me. He is frequently on this forum.

And Nice to hear you think your own paper is well written, good for you ;)

Anyhow, I find the paper of Higgins a litle more convincing. It's just the way he builds his case to prove his point ;)

Yes, he estimated 1130 degC, and the figure 8 was carefully deduced.

And, yes Stephan Boltzmann law will apply ( T^4), but of course if a single emissivity Value is used it must be based on a weighted average of the whole band of the emitted spectrum.