Alan Fletcher Member
  • Member since May 27th 2016
  • Last Activity:

Posts by Alan Fletcher

Back to the court case. *I am NOT a lawyer! *

It is currently in the evidence-gathering/disclosure/deposition stage. Rossi is required to give IH everything they ask for (Since there have been no recent filings, I presume Rossi has delivered on this) , but he is not required to file anything with the court.

Next up, one of the parties (most likely IH) may file for Summary Judgement : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summary_judgment#United_States

They could file just against Rossi's Claim 1 ($93M), OR for their counter-claim, or both. To do this the moving party has a "heavy burden" and must prove there is no "no genuine issue of material fact", interpreted in the most favorable way to the other party. They could:

a) Lay out their entire case in writing (Dangerous if they lose the summary judgement)

b) Just attack the weakest point (Was this the GPT? Was there excess heat?)

In either case the other party has only a "light burden" and need only produce "favourable facts and interpretations of law".

This is a court case, not an experiment.

As Mats said in a recent interview (*) , the data filed so far is the tip of the iceberg. Both Rossi and IH have filed close to the minimum required to keep the case alive, so it can reach the jury. Rossi is under no legal obligation (and would be unwise) to present any defense at this stage except to answer the counter-complaint "deny and demand strict proof thereof").

Rossi is correct in declining to answer any questions relating to the case.

I still don't understand why deep-insider Dewey is leaking/signalling information about the case, which may or may not be true, and may or may not be presented in the case.

* Mats recent article is from October, and so doesn't even take into account recent court filings.

And I accidentally came across this question by Paradignoia , also May 4, 2016