Covid-19 News

• Co-use of arbs (sartans) for hypertension correlates badly with recovery,,) arbs are much worse than other BP meds)

but not so much co-use of metformin..

Reference or link please... I don't recall reading that and there seems to be evidence that the virus does not use the same receptor type at all. Also that there is little or no cross-reactivity. I posted that before. The idea seems basically incorrect. Or my reference was wrong. I am not an expert about ACE receptors but the write of the information I linked seemed to be.

• Multiple authors is a problem .. the message gets confused..

I would put more weight on Dr Raoult's results with Covid patients rather than with retrospective RA patinets

and where he actually measures the HCQ plasma concentration and other clinically relevant stuff..

The papers that Raoult emphasized are certainly tantalizing. But they lack rigor and proper controls. And the only controlled study I saw excluded patients for inappropriate reasons so whether or not it was properly controlled is arguable. Also, these are not primarily Raoult papers. He is actually listed last in a long list of authors. Nonetheless the papers are tantalizing. I hope well done studies of HCQ with and without AZI are reported very soon!

• Reference or link please... I

You need to read the data referenced

https://www.mediterranee-infec…ebsite_IHU_09_04_2020.pdf

Raoult's results suggest higher risk with Angiotensin !! blockers than metformin statins other BP meds (nifedipine metoprolol etc)

One question

is Raoult including AceInhibitors.. where are they? since they are popular for hypertension.

The good thing about Raoult is his single authorship is quicker

I don't expect much from the WHO big multiple authorship studies within six months

too many authors quibbling over details in the edit stage

• https://techstartups.com/2020/…ine-with-91-success-rate/